Wednesday, September 28, 2022

MGGA Elects Officers and Sets Policy


Great Falls – At their annual convention in Great Falls, the Montana Grain Growers Association elected officers and set the organization’s policy for the coming year. These actions put the finishing touches on a successful event attended by over 800 farmers, agribusiness representatives and guests.


Tom Butcher, a grain producer from Lewistown, was installed as MGGA President for 2017. Elected Vice President was Michelle Erickson-Jones of Broadview; Treasurer Lyle Benjamin of Sunburst; and Secretary Vince Mattson, Chester. Rob Davis, Larslan, will serve asPast President.


Re-elected to serve a second term on the board of directors are Lyle Benjamin, Sunburst, District 6; Tryg Koch, Kalispell, District 7; Carl Malesich, Dillon, District 8; and Michelle Jones, Broadview, District 12.


Newly elected to a four year term are Boyd Heilig, Moore, District 10; and Phil Davey, Columbus, District 11, who had been serving as an appointee. Tony Gunderman, Larslan, was appointed to represent District 2 and Brion Torgerson from Torgerson’s, LLC was appointed to serve as an at-large director.


During the committee and resolution meetings, MGGA policy is reviewed, debated and approved by the membership. These resolutions guide the organization, its leadership and staff on issues that affect our industry. The approved 2017 resolutions can be found on the MGGA website at


Source:  Montana Grain Growers Association



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x