Montana Agriculture Coalition Welcomes 2015 Legislators


Helena, Mont., As the 64th Legislative Session entered its third day the one thing no one had to worry about was lunch.  Legislators were provided lunch by Montana’s major agriculture organizations, including the Montana Department of Agriculture, Farm Bureau, Farmers Union, Stockgrowers and Grain Growers.  

[EasyDNNGallery|786|Width|450|Height|450|position|left|resizecrop|False|lightbox|False|title|False|description|True|redirection|False|LinkText||]“This was an opportunity for agriculture to show our elected legislators the unity within our industry and the overall impact agriculture has on the state of Montana. While there certainly was some politicking going on, new and returning legislators got to meet representatives from the various agriculture organizations and ask them questions about Montana agriculture,” said Director Ron de Yong.

The event was emceed by Senate Agriculture Chairman Taylor Brown (Billings) with House Agriculture Chairman Alan Redfield (Livingston).  It was the first of its kind opportunity for agriculture organizations to meet with legislators early in the session, and provide them with an opportunity to get know agriculture.

Agriculture organizations in attendance include the Montana Department of Agriculture, Montana Grain Growers, Montana Farm Bureau, Montana Farmers Union, Montana Stockgrowers Association, USDA National Agriculture Statistics Service, Montana Wheat and Barley Committee, Montana Woolgrowers, Montana Agricultural Business Association, Montana State University Extension and College of Agriculture, and Montana Association of Conservation Districts.

Legislative Ag Caucus

Members from both houses, and from both sides of the aisle, have formed a new “Legislative Ag Caucus” this week, to work together on issues that are important to Montana’s Number One industry.  According to Brown, “That is very positive news, and something that has not happened in the past 6 years that I have been serving here.”

Getting Involved

Both Ag Committees meet every Tuesday and Thursday afternoon at 3:00PM. The public is welcome to come listen and testify on issues.

  • Senate Ag Committee is chaired by Senator Taylor Brown in Room 335
  • House Ag Committee is chaired by Representative Alan Redfield in Room 472


CLICK HERE to see a list of the Bills that have been assigned to any committee.  Select a Committee, then click on “Submit” at the top of the page.



© Northern Ag Network 2015

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x