Friday, September 29, 2023

Montana Farm Service Agency State Committee Appointees Announced

by Colter Brown

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack Friday announced a slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee Appointees. State committees are selected by the Secretary and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.

Montana FSA State Committee appointees include:

  • Committee Chair Ryan Lankford – Chinook
  • Casey Bailey – Fort Benton
  • Steve Carney – Scobey
  • Sarah Degn – Sidney
  • Jake Merkel – Whitehall

Montana Senator Jon Tester issued the following statement in response to the announcement:

“I’m pleased to see such a strong group of Montana farmers and ranchers named to our FSA State Committee,” said Tester. “These individuals will play a key role in carrying out programs and functions administered by the USDA in Montana, and I’m looking forward to working with them to keep production agriculture strong in the Treasure State.”

The Farm Service Agency serves farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural partners through the effective, efficient, and equitable delivery of federal agricultural programs. The Agency offers producers a strong safety net through the administration of farm commodity and disaster programs. Additionally, through conservation programs, FSA continues to preserve and protect natural resources and provides credit to agricultural producers who are unable to receive private, commercial credit, including targeted loan funds for beginning, underserved, women and military veterans involved in production agriculture.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x