Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Two Montana Students Win CME Beef Industry Scholarships


Ten college students were awarded the 2017-2018 $1,500 CME Beef Industry Scholarships at the 2017 Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Trade Show today. The scholarship was sponsored by the CME Group and administered by the National Cattlemen’s Foundation (NCF). Taylre Sitz of Bozeman, Montana, was the overall essay winner.

“We’re pleased to continue our support of the CME Beef Industry Scholarships, which provide education to future beef industry leaders,” said Tim Andriesen, CME Group managing director of agricultural products. “Our partnership with NCF enables us to continue investing in accomplished university students who represent the next generation of food producers here in the U.S.”

The CME Beef Industry Scholarship was introduced in 1989 in partnership with the Chicago Mercantile Exchange. Today this scholarship tradition remains strong by recognizing and encouraging talented college students who will one day be industry leaders.

“We cannot emphasize enough how grateful we are for the continuous support from CME for Beef Industry Scholarships to provide financial assistance for future beef leaders,” said John Lacey, chair of NCF Board of Trustees. “Each year we are impressed with the caliber of students that apply for these scholarships.”

Overall Winner


In addition to the $1,500 scholarship, Taylre Sitz receives a trip to Nashville, Tenn., for the 2017 Cattle Industry Convention & NCBA Trade Show where she will be recognized at the Best of Beef Awards Breakfast. Sitz currently attends Montana State University where she is pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Animal Science, as well as a minor in Business Administration. She is currently enrolled in the pre-veterinary program with plans to become a large animal veterinarian.


Other 2017 CME Scholarship Winners

Thor Burnside
Fort Hays State University
Talala, OK

Cole Grisham
West Texas A&M University
Van Vleck, TX

Emily Ivey
Lake Land College
Loudon, TN

Dan Johnson
Kansas State University
Dillion, MT

Abby Marion
University of Florida
Deltona, FL

Garrett Nichols
Iowa State University
Marshalltown, IA

Shelby Schiefelbein
Texas A&M University
Kimball, MN

Madison Slaven
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA

Rachel Waggie
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS


To learn more about scholarship opportunities and additional youth support from the NFC visit:


A big Congratulations to Taylre Sitz for taking home the top prize!



Source:  National Cattlemen’s Foundation and Montana Stockgrowers Association



NCBA Convention Conversations brought to you by LongRange

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x