Friday, September 29, 2023

Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame Announces 2022 Inductees

by Colter Brown

CASPER – The Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame (WCHF) has selected 36 inductees for the Class of 2022 The WCHF State Board of Directors voted on the nominees from across the state during its annual meeting May 1. The induction ceremony will be at the Little America in Cheyenne, September 23-24.

The event is open to the public and is party of the annual Wyoming Cowboy and Cowgirl legacy week established by the state legislature in 2019. Regional committees in 10 different areas of the state researched and scored over 70 nominations and sent the top picks to the hall of fame’s board of directors.

The Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame’s chief goal is “to preserve, promote, perpetuate, publish and document Wyoming’s working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced that culture to Wyoming.

Below is the Class of 2022 by Region:

  • Region 1:
    • Crook County:
      • Maurice Williams, Beulah
      • Driskill Family, Devils Tower. This family nomination includes Col. Jesse Lincoln Driskill, Jesse Lincoln “Link” Driskill II, John Wylie “Bud” Driskill, William Walter “Tobe” Driskill, Jesse Loring “Diddy” Driskill, Jesse Belvin “Buz” Driskill, Malcolm Franklin Driskill; Jesse Thomas “Tom” Driskill
    • Campbell County:
      • Charles L. Reynolds, Gillette
      • Rod Smith, Weston
  • Region 2
    • Goshen County:
      • Clyde Omar Stewart, Yoder
      • Wayne S. Hunter, Hawk Springs
    • Niobrara County :
      • Arthur Samuel “Artie” Joss, Keeline
  • Region 3
    • Albany County:
      • Philetus Rathburn, Fox Park
    • Laramie County:
      • Wayne and Francis Peavy “Biddy” Bonham, Federal
  • Region 4
    • Converse County:
      • Dennis Robert Daly, Douglas
    • Natrona County:
      • Dee Burtch, Alcova
  • Region 5
    • Johnson County:
      • Robert Borgialli, Buffalo
      • Neal Rodney Schuman, Buffalo
      • William Thomas Wagoner, Buffalo
    • Sheridan County:
      • Zane R. Hilman, Big Horn
  • Region 6
    • Big Horn County:
      • Joseph S. Bassett, Lovell
    • Park County:
      • Chris C. Renner, Meeteetse
  • Region 7
    • Carbon: County:
      • Lua Burton Kelly, Medicine Bow
      • Frank E. Miller, Rawlins
    • Sweetwater County:
      • Bert Lamb, Washam, WY and Manila, UT
      • Charles Alfred Stillman-Philbrick and Elroy P. “Bronco Jim” Philbrick, Green River
  • Region 8
    • Fremont County:
      • Robert William Hamilton, Lander
      • Bob Bessey, Riverton
      • Clyde Woolery, Kinnear
    • Hot Springs:
      • Ramul Dvarshkis, Thermopolis
      • Larry Bentley, Thermopolis
  • Region 9
    • Unita County:
      • John H. Hamilton, Fort Bridger
      • Richard H. “Dick” Hamilton, Fort Bridger
  • Region 10
    • Sublette County:
      • Charles Leonard Priebe, Pinedale
      • Milford Byron “Mike” Steele, Boulder/Pinedale
      • Ivan Samuel “Pete” Hoagland, Big Piney
      • Carl Philip “Red” Mathisen, Daniel/Cora
      • Thomas Daniel O’Neil Sr., Big Piney
      • Kent Snedicor, Daniel
    • Teton County:
      • Bob Lucas, Jackson
      • Jim Maher, Jackson

More information about the Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame and previous inductees can be found at

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x